Chrono Trigger unceremoniously launched on Steam today and it seems the initial reviews of it... aren't great. Clipping out a few for your reading pleasure

"All you need to know is that this is a straight port of the mobile version, and includes a horrible font and disgusting sprite filtering."

"This is a port from mobile,
It only disappoints.
But Steam will refund
All my 15 silver points.
"

It's mostly all bad reviews but a few are positive.

"Chrono Trigger is one of the best RPG's ever made. I had it on SNES, then lost it. I am very glad it is finally on Steam. "

Chrono Trigger is one of the most beloved games of the 16 bit era and it seems like Square is releasing it's mobile ports directly on Steam which doesn't sit well with people because the interface isn't very well optimized for PC. Also it seems that the graphics this version don't upscale well compared to the amazing upscaling of the 16 bit graphics in any emulator. I view these kinds of releases the way I think of the Star Wars Special Editions. I don't care what they do to a modern version of the game as long as we can go back and play the original and in the case of Chrono Trigger we all can. In fact, I recommend the DS version or original SNES cart!

http://store.steampowered.com/app/613830/CHRONO_TRIGGER

GregoPeck   Member wrote on 02/28/2018 at 04:36am

Cool, thanks for the info. I was distracted by other news today, the release of the demo for Final Fantasy XV Windows Edition.

I think it'd be great to have this on PC. I'll have to look at it more to decide whether or not to grab it.

Travis   Admin   Member wrote on 03/01/2018 at 04:46am

I watched a gameplay video and there are some bizarre choices. Since it's a direct mobile port, there's a constant "menu" button on the screen even though you're playing (probably) with a gamepad and can't click it. Even if you weren't, the Esc key is always there.

And the weird filter they have over it is honestly a little uncomfortable to look at. The original sprites without any scanline emulation would be far preferable.

jdodson   Admin   Member   Post Author wrote on 03/01/2018 at 05:16am

I agree that the pixel art being chunky would be better than that OR just allow an option for original pixels or the smoothed out thing they are doing. It does that on the DS version but the screen is so low res it's not that noticeable. But you really do notice it when your at 1080p or higher!

GregoPeck   Member wrote on 05/31/2018 at 06:03am

I just got it, so I'm jumping in after they've updated it at least once (there's another update planned). It looks fine to me with the "high resolution" graphics settings. The "original" graphics settings looks more pixelated, like the original lol. That menu button Travis mentioned does appear, but it's in the bottom of the screen to the right. It's not really too noticeable, I think it disappears sometimes, but it's also definitely unnecessary. I'm playing w/ a controller and I just hit that top button (Y on XBox 360 controller) to get into the menu. I really liked the opening cinematic, but I think maybe that was included on the PS version. Otherwise, my only complaint really is that it seems I'm stuck with gray boxes (for text and menu) when I'd rather customize it (to blue). I don't recall being able to do that in this game, but I remember I was able to do so on FFVII.

jdodson   Admin   Member   Post Author wrote on 06/01/2018 at 01:08am

Glad you got it. Love to hear your review of the game!

GregoPeck   Member wrote on 06/01/2018 at 02:42am

So far I'm not disappointed, just wish I could change the color of the menu/text box. I didn't play the game until 2000 or so, after I was Travis's roommate and before 9/11.

Travis   Admin   Member wrote on 06/01/2018 at 02:48am

I am honored to be part of how you remember when things happened! :D

GregoPeck   Member wrote on 06/01/2018 at 03:03am

Well I was Jake's roommate at the time, so yeah you fit in there. Plus, I've been listening to Cowboy Mouth a bit recently. Hell, I still dream I'm at RU for some reason. LOL

If you want to join this conversation you need to sign in.
Sign Up / Log In

Recent Activity...

Bounty Hunting Is a Complicated Profession: The Mandelorian Trailer Is Out!

Not sure what you're asking there.


Bounty Hunting Is a Complicated Profession: The Mandelorian Trailer Is Out!

Right, good point thanks Travis. Maul with the...


Sega Genesis Mini Launch

Some sound delay issues, but that seems to be the...


Bounty Hunting Is a Complicated Profession: The Mandelorian Trailer Is Out!

Yeah I'm way in on this. The canon on Boba Fett is...