In this episode of Cheerful Ghost Radio we’re going to bring you the second and most important part of our two part Solo: A Star Wars Story Review. Tim couldn't make it for the last review, so we get his thoughts on Solo and some comments about what we said in the last episode.

We also talk about the future Star Wars movies we may see, and how Solo's somewhat limited box office take might mean for those.

Will_Ball   Game Mod   Member wrote on 07/11/2018 at 03:47pm

Tim: "[The Fans] ruined Star Wars"

Rian Johnson did. :P

Will_Ball   Game Mod   Member wrote on 07/11/2018 at 04:14pm

I am kind of glad this did not perform the way they wanted it to. I want them to focus on new characters rather than playing it safe with old characters. Star Wars is a big universe, so there should be no need to just keep focusing on characters that we already know.

My dream is that they do big tent-pole Star Wars movies followed by smaller Star Wars movies. It would be great to get films that pushed the boundaries without worrying about them making a huge amount of money.

Travis   Admin   Post Author wrote on 07/11/2018 at 07:56pm

Yes. Some smaller movies that are free to experiment with genre and don’t have to be these huge productions.

And some new characters/events.

jdodson   Admin wrote on 07/11/2018 at 11:09pm

> My dream is that they do big tent-pole Star Wars movies followed by smaller Star Wars movies. It would be great to get films that pushed the boundaries without worrying about them making a huge amount of money.

I like that idea a lot. I wonder when we'll get a small Star Wars movie? Hopefully soon.

Timogorgon wrote on 07/19/2018 at 05:59pm

> Rian Johnson did. :P

I disagree about him ruining Star Wars, but I'll never forgive him for killing Luke. :P I'm still not over it!

Will_Ball   Game Mod   Member wrote on 07/19/2018 at 08:32pm

>but I'll never forgive him for killing Luke.

JJ will retcon it. Episode 8 will be a Finn fever dream while he is recovering from the wounds he got in Episode 7.

jdodson   Admin wrote on 07/20/2018 at 02:31am

> JJ will retcon it. Episode 8 will be a Finn fever dream while he is recovering from the wounds he got in Episode 7.

I'm not sure if this is a joke or not but I've heard that JJ will recon a lot as possible Episode 9 plot lines and I really don't think he will and if he does it will be in a clever way that isn't obvious. I'm not sure what The Last Jedi did that needs retconning, I mean yeah Luke died and that was a kind of finality I didn't love (because i'd like more from his character) but it worked in the story and was a fitting end to his character.

jdodson   Admin wrote on 07/20/2018 at 02:32am

What I mean by heard is that Ep 9 rumors are making the rounds and that's one of them and it doesn't really seem like it's a thing that will happen to me.

Travis   Admin   Post Author wrote on 07/20/2018 at 02:50am

Yeah there's no way that's a legit rumor. I think it's wishful thinking.

Will_Ball   Game Mod   Member wrote on 07/20/2018 at 03:23pm

> I'm not sure if this is a joke

JJ called me and told me it was true. Now he could be joking, but he doesn't typically call me, so I think it is real.

Travis   Admin   Post Author wrote on 07/20/2018 at 04:12pm

Wow I’m two degrees of separation from JJ. Thanks Will, I feel special now.

jdodson   Admin wrote on 07/20/2018 at 04:41pm

smile

If you want to join this conversation you need to sign in.
Sign Up / Log In

Recent Activity...

Fallout 76: First Impressions After a Few Hours

I updated the post with a couple things I should...


Fallout 76: First Impressions After a Few Hours

Yeah I confirmed those chat settings: Area is...


Fallout 76: First Impressions After a Few Hours

The game kind of had the opposite effect on me...


Fallout 76

Posted:...