I'll preface this with the fact that Oblivion is one of the best examples of a game where modding capability really shines; there are countless user-made additions and at least one full-modification pack, Nehrim, that I know of off the top of my head. If you play Oblivion may people will tell you to just go straight into mods and ignore the base game and that's where I have to disagree.

The first game I played was vanilla. And, man, that first time you exit the sewers, you can do anything. The immense freedom, the open-world nature, it was incredible. Oblivion is by no means perfect and going back now the combat doesn't age very well, but the main focus of the game, the nature of it, remains. TES IV will always be one of my favorite RPGs and holds a special place on my wall.

Travis   Admin wrote on 12/14/2012 at 08:25pm

It's fantastic. One of my favorites of all time. I play with mods now, but very few. The vanilla game is great as it is.

Gary_Butterfield wrote on 12/14/2012 at 10:15pm

I love Oblvion and Skyrim but I think the FPS Fallouts are a lot better. Fallout has one of the most unique settings in gaming. The Elder Scrolls games, though I love them for their freedom, always seemed really generic setting wise.

gmlawton wrote on 12/15/2012 at 02:07am

For me, it was like my experience with Morrowind. I didn'tget into either right away. It took until I was able to work up the patience to get myself immersed. Also both games, their best foot isn't put forward in the main quests, it's the guild missions imo. It took mea while to figure that out, and that rushing through things wasn't the way to enjoy the games, but relazing and soaking in the universe.

Overall, I think it's The Elder Scrolls games helped me really mature as a gamer. They're great games... they just don't really pull you in, they grow on you if you give them the timeto.

Travis   Admin wrote on 12/15/2012 at 03:25am

Gary, allow me to nitpick a bit. I don't think the Fallout games can realistically be called FPS games. I'm open to being convinced otherwise, but...

The VATS system means that you never really have to aim. Sure, it's obvious that Bethesda put a ton of FPS elements in their games. As an FPS though, Fallout 3 would fail miserably. It uses some pretty clunky FPS mechanics, when treated as an FPS. New Vegas improved on it quite a bit. It's substantially better. I used VATS far less in New Vegas because of the improvements, but still, VATS is front and center.

But otherwise I agree. The Fallout games really have some of the best atmosphere in any games I've ever played. I don't think the Elder Scrolls is generic, but the modern Fallouts are definitely more interesting and unique. I can't wait to see what Fallout 4 can do with the Skyrim engine!

jdodson   Admin wrote on 12/15/2012 at 03:44am

@panicked @gary The new Fallout games have elements of a Shooter for sure. The game is in first person. I don't know the game doesn't feel like a traditional shooter but it has those elements.

I played more Oblivion that I have Skyrim, I ended up stopping my play of Oblivion on the PS3 due to me becoming a Vampire and not wanting to undo that. I didn't realize a Vampire had bitten me and then I turned. Walked out side and, yeah it hurt. :D

Timogorgon wrote on 12/15/2012 at 05:45pm

Oblivion is fun, but I kind of hate the leveling mechanics. You have to put in a lot of work to make sure you get the most out of each level up. After sinking somewhere around 15-20 hours into the game i ended up having to start over because my character kept leveling up but getting horrible stat gains. That soured my experience (pun intended) pretty bad, and after putting a couple hours into my new character I got bored and moved on to other games.

I actually have not tried any of the mods for the game. Maybe a mod or two would help bring me back to the game.

Timogorgon wrote on 12/15/2012 at 05:55pm

As far as Fallout goes, I'd say it's a FPS / turn based hybrid. The FPS features are a little clunky I agree, and I really only use them when sniping or up close with a shotgun. The setting is great too. I love the sort of retro-futurism of everything.

jdodson   Admin wrote on 12/16/2012 at 12:04am

The Fallout story blew my mind. I don't sink 8-10 hours a day into a game, but with Fallout 3 I did.

Gary_Butterfield wrote on 12/16/2012 at 02:05am

I just meant First Person. Reflex!

Travis   Admin wrote on 12/16/2012 at 02:19am

Gary, yeah, I get that. I had actually just been discussing the very same thing earlier in the day on another site, so I was primed ;)

jdodson   Admin wrote on 12/18/2012 at 02:06am

Primed for EVIL!

Travis   Admin wrote on 12/18/2012 at 03:11am

THE PRIME EEEVILLL. THE LORD OF TERR-OR.

jdodson   Admin wrote on 12/18/2012 at 03:36am

Dude that totally a different game!

Travis   Admin wrote on 12/18/2012 at 03:59am

Right, but you said "prime" and "evil." What choice did I have?

jdodson   Admin wrote on 12/18/2012 at 04:06am

:D

If you want to join this conversation you need to sign in.
Sign Up / Log In

Recent Activity...

Cheerful Ghost Radio Episode 52: Super Mario Bros. 2

YEAH DUFFER BROTHERS! OH WAIT THEY ARE BROTHERS TOO...


Is The Future of Game Streaming Google Stadia?

Plus Steam can stream games around your house...


Is The Future of Game Streaming Google Stadia?

When I heard what Google Stadia is and that it’s...


Cheerful Ghost Games Club: Super Mario Bros. 3

Honestly Adam, I'm glad you mentioned that because I...