jdodson1

Joined 01/23/2012

I'm an Engineer and built the video game community Cheerful Ghost and text based mini-MMO Tale of the White Wyvern.

2733 Posts

The greatest show in the world is back with a crowdfunding campaign for it's 14th season! If you are so inclined, I encourage you to fund it at whatever level you deem suitable.

Also, all Thanksgiving weekend long they will be having MST3K Turkey Day crowdfunding super marathon! You can watch it on the Gizmoplex or YouTube or the zillion other places MST3K streams.

https://www.youtube.com/@mst3k

https://showmaker.mst3k.com

Turkey Day 2023 Super Marathon Schedule:

Thursday 11/23

9AM ET/6AM PT: Bride Of The Monster

11AM ET/8AM PT: The Pumaman (Surgically Enhanced)

1PM ET/10AM PT: Escape 2000

3PM ET/12PM PT: Beyond Atlantis

5PM ET/2PM PT: The Beatniks

7PM ET/4PM PT: Viking Women and the Sea Serpent

9PM ET/6PM PT: The Giant Gila Monster

11PM ET/8PM PT: The Starfighters (Surgically Enhanced)

Friday 11/24

1AM ET/10PM PT: Munchie

3AM ET/12AM PT: Master Ninja II

5AM ET/2AM PT: Catalina Caper (Surgically Enhanced)

7AM ET/4AM PT: Operation Kid Brother

9AM ET/6AM PT: The Bubble

11AM ET/8AM PT: Time Chasers

1PM ET/10AM PT: Horror Of Party Beach (Surgically Enhanced)

3PM ET/12PM PT: Prince Of Space

5PM ET/2PM PT: Dr. Mordrid

7PM ET/4PM PT: Girl In Gold Boots

9PM ET/6PM PT: Stranded In Space

11PM ET/8PM PT: Gorgo

Saturday 11/25

1AM ET/10PM PT: Santo in the Treasure of Dracula

3AM ET/12AM PT: Santa Claus Conquers The Martians

5AM ET/2AM PT: Santa Claus

7AM ET/4AM PT: The Christmas Dragon


"The trial chamber is a structure packed with new adventures and filled with traps, trial spawners, mobs, and (as an extra bonus) treasure! Trial chambers are procedurally generated, which means you’ll face a new challenge every time you venture into them, and find something different behind each door! Explore deeper and deeper and you might find yourself stumbling across resources that’ll help you, or mobs that’ll hinder you. The trial chambers are also home to a playful (and dangerous) hostile mob: the breeze!"

Trial Chambers seem just like what Minecraft needs which is more dungeoning adventures added to the base game. That said, I'm curious how it will work and will you discover these randomly in your world or create a new Trial Dungeon world? Either way, looking forward to delving deeper!

https://www.minecraft.net/en-us/article/trial-chambers-first-peek


"To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the release of Half-Life we reunited the original development team to share their memories of creating Valve's first game."

Oh and not only did Valve decide to celebrate Half-life's 25th anniversary with an awesome documentary, they also released an incredible quality of life update to the game updating it for 4K as well as running on the Steam Deck!

https://www.half-life.com/en/halflife25


I picked up the Steam Deck some time ago and I still think it's one of the best things to happen to PC gaming. Playing the Borderlands 4K remaster and everything else in my catalog on my couch is a magical thing and if Valve releases another Deck successor, I'll buy it. Well, apparently Valve has released a new Steam Deck and it looks incredible even if it's not a massive leap forward in performance.

The Steam Deck lineup has been revamped and the Deck at the top of the heap features a stunning OLED screen, 1TB of storage, Wifi 6 and a 50 watt hour battery! Digital Foundry and other tech review outlets have put it through the paces and found the screen absolutely top notch in HDR games and noted the increased battery life to be fantastic. This upgrade is incredible but I think I'll stick to my current deck until there is a bigger performance leap. For now though, it's awesome to see Valve giving the deck a significant upgrade and if you haven't picked one up, now seems a great time to get one.

https://store.steampowered.com/steamdeck


Video games that are created to advertise fast food chains don't typically achieve renown and cult status often but the original trilogy of XBox Burger King games are legendary. If you have no knowledge of these games or have played them all, this documentary covers these very unique classics.


If you aren't playing anything interesting and wanted to try something a bit different, why not try the Doom II mod Venturious?

"A The Mummy/Indiana Jones/Tomb Raider -inspired partial conversion for Doom2.
I'm releasing it as-is for now. There's 7 completed maps, and I'm hoping to add some more in future, but no idea when that will be.

Dynamic Lights need to be ON.
Crosshairs ON is recommended.
GZDoom's Alternate HUD is suggested, set to show only Available Weapons.
If the game seems too dark, set Sector Light Mode to 'Standard' instead of 'Software'.
I don't expect compatibility with other mods. Damage Numbers by Xaser Acheron is already built in.
"

https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?t=78218


Starfield is out and seems to be doing well according to reviews.

Starfield Reviews on Platform:

Steam: Very Positive
Metacritic: Metascore 87 / User Score 5.6
Google Audience Rating Summary: 3.3
PC World: 5/5
IGN: 7/10
PC Gamer: 75%

It seems most folks seem to think Starfield is pretty great even though there are some critiques. Some mention the 30 FPS cap on XBox being a problem, some note that they expected Starfield to be a bit more like No Mans Sky and less like Fallout and some people just don't seem to like Bethesda RPG's. Originally I was going to buy Starfield on day one, but due to it not being a great experience on Steam Deck quite yet I am holding off a bit and playing a few other games until it gets a few updates.

If you are looking for a deep technical discussion about Starfield on PC check out the Digital Foundry discussion. I appreciate how Digital Foundry approaches reviewing games, focusing more on gaming performance and how gameplay works and less on meme based tomfoolery.


In 2015 Double Fine released the Double Fine Adventure documentary series that cataloged the journey for their latest point and tap adventure game Broken Age. Created in partnership with Double Fine and 2 player productions this deep dive docu-series really impressed me. So much so that I watched it start to finish on YouTube and then later bought it on Blu-Ray.

Double Fine recently released it's latest 2 player production documentary for free streaming online on YouTube without ads in 4K! Double Fine PsychOdyssey is available now and features 37 separate videos with a total runtime of 23 hours! So if you are looking for a long series to binge, this is the one to watch!

So far I've watched the first two videos and it's a great series. It starts out talking about Psychonauts and it's storied development from a very young Double Fine studio. In the second episode they immediately deal with folks leaving, as most big companeis do and I imagine at some point they will cover the Microsoft acquisition and (spoiler alert) launch of Psychonauts 2!

https://www.doublefine.com/dftv/psychodyssey

PsychOdyssey YouTube Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLIhLvue17Sd70y34zh2erWWpMyOnh4UN_


After watching the recent Nintendo Direct that features 15 minutes of Gameplay it seems like Super Mario Wonder may be one of the more re-playable Mario games I've seen in sometime. Super Mario Bros. Wonder will release on October 20th and for me, it's a day one purchase.


Vampire Survivors is one of the biggest Indie games to go from rags to riches and Noclip recently released a documentary that highlights it's rise in popularity. How does an Indie game make it from humble roots to become a mega popular winner of many game awards? Apparently all you need to do is develop a new kind of genre that mixes retro elements with incredible game play!

All that said, Vampire Survivors is one of the most creative Indie Games I've played in a long time and I am happy it's done well.